The Chair of Governors can be contacted at any time via the clerk to the Local Governing Body, Richard Taylor School, Bilton Lane, Harrogate, HG13DT

Click on a name to see a photo

Dr Jan Johnson   Chair & Foundation Governor appointed by Ripon Diocese/ Richard Taylor’s Educational Trust

I have been a governor at RTS since 2008 and was elected Chair of Governors in 2021. As the Chair, my role is to act as a critical friend and support to the head teacher and all the staff. In addition, I support the work of the Governing body by attending sub-committee meetings for Finance, Premises and Health and Safety, Curriculum and Standards and Worship, Mission and Wellbeing. In addition, I have particular responsibilities for Child Protection. Inclusion and Special Educational Needs provision within the school.

Rev Simon Dowson  Appointed by the Ripon Diocese

As Rector of St John’s church in Bilton I have the privilege of serving as a foundation governor at Richard Taylor School. I have held this position since December 2014, and as well as being on the governing body I serve on the Worship and Mission and Personnel sub-committees, as well as being link governor for Ribblesdale class. I come into the school frequently in my role as rector, for example to take assemblies or observe shine and share afternoons. I also enjoy welcoming staff and students on regular occasions to St John’s

Niki Hutchinson    Foundation Governor appointed by Ripon Diocese/St John’s PCC

My name is Niki Hutchinson. I’m 27 and my favourite thing to do with my time is amateur dramatics. I am also training to be an accountant.  I am on the premises health and safety and finance committees. I am also class governor for Coverdale class.

Steve Scarisbrick    Foundation Governor appointed by Ripon Diocese

I am a foundation governor at RTS. I have been a governor for 16 years and have two children who both attend St Aidan’s. I have three main roles on the governing body; firstly, I am a member of the board of directors of the trust; secondly, I am chair of the personnel committee and thirdly I am the literacy governor. I am delighted to represent a school of which we can all be proud.

Phillip Richardson    Foundation Governor appointed by Ripon Diocese

Joanne Sykes    Elected Parent Governor

In November 2021 I was elected parent governor at Richard Taylor School, where my daughter is thriving in Key Stage 2.  I have been a physics teacher in local secondary schools for over ten years and, as such, will be supporting RTS to develop their already excellent science provision and will be part of the curriculum and standards committee.  I am also class governor for Coverdale.

Caroline Fox-Robinson   Elected Parent Governor

I am a parent to twin daughters just starting in Richard Taylor, I am looking forward to growing my involvement in and knowledge of the school along with my children. I am on the ‘Premises and Health & Safety’ and ‘Personnel’ committees and am class governor for Wensleydale’

Cath Phelan   Elected member of the teaching staff

Jean Atkinson    Elected member of the non-teaching staff

Andrew Symonds   Headteacher

In attendance at Governors’ Meetings

 Emma Crisell   Deputy Headteacher

Caroline Simpson    Literacy Co-ordinator and member of SLT

 Anne Robertson   RE Co-ordinator and member of SLT

Hannah Manwaring   Clerk to the Governors

For details of all Governors terms of office, body who appointed, committees served, business interests and meeting attendance please click on the link below.

Governing Body Membership and Meeting Attendance 2021-22

All can be contacted through the School Office

Minutes from the Meetings of the Local Governing Body:-

Spring 2022 Minutes

Summer 2022 Minutes

Autumn 2022 Minutes

The Governing Body also publish an annual newsletter for parents, click on the PDF Icon to view the latest one.

Governors Newsletter